Early morning reflections, Haiku, Sewing and Quantitative Easing!

This is the first time that I’ve posted first thing in the morning for a while. As I sit here in the “Sewing Room/Study” (C.’s sewing is taking off big time, so I’ve gladly entered into a shared occupancy arrangement for the box room!). By the way, you can see the full range of C.’s sewing products here: http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/cpearce2011/m.html?item=161485731757&hash=item25994cb7ad&pt=UK_Laundry&rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.l2562 . Check out the Christmas bunting towards the bottom of the products list – it’s really good, even if I am biased!

Anyway, advert over! What really drew me to write the blog this morning was the recollection of some time spent messing about with Haiku (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Haiku) a couple of years’ ago. I’m not sure why, but I woke up with an almost perfectly formed Haiku on the theme of the dawn floating around in my barely conscious mind. I tried to ignore it, but it stuck there and so in the end, I gave in, got up, and wrote it down :

Early morning light

Cleanses the day’s complexion :

A new start beckons

Now fully awake, I played around with the theme a bit more and came up with the following variation :

Dawn’s awakening :

Lights the path to a new day

Fresh with potential

I really enjoy playing around with words within the strict, 5-7-5 form imposed by Haiku. However, I also love subverting the form itself. Quantitative easing is the device used by Central Banks in Europe and the US to stimulate money supply in the economy in order to limit the danger of recession. But how would Quantitative Easing work in the context of a Haiku crisis? Maybe something like this :

Creative crisis :

Poetic QE allows

An extra syllable

Anyway, the day beckons – time to exploit that fresh potential!

Leave a Reply

