So that was the NaBloPoMo that was…

So it’s the 30th November and this is the last post of this year’s National Blog Post Month (NaBloPoMo). First – thanks to anybody who has had the stamina to follow this blog through all thirty posts; and if you haven’t quite managed to read them all (and I certainly wouldn’t blame you for that) then thanks for reading any that you did manage

This is the second year that I have completed NaBloPoMo. I have to say that I have enjoyed the experience much more this year than I did in 2013. It’s actually been quite a lot of fun (even though there have been some difficult days during the month). It appears that the blog has connected more with people this time than it did last time too. The number of views during the month has almost doubled, and I have added a number of Followers and acquired a number of Likes during the month. My prime purpose in writing the blog remains largely personal and selfish (I just enjoy the process of writing blog posts and getting some things off my chest), but there is no doubting the pleasure that comes from occasional positive feedback from you, dear Reader

Looking back over the 30 posts in November 2014, the main thing that I notice is the change in the motivation for the content when compared to last year. There have been far fewer overtly political posts this time around; and far more posts focusing on my family and the events of our everyday lives. Some of these have been recounting very happy episodes (particularly our Silver Wedding trip to Italy in September 2014); some of them have been quite ordinary; and at least one was prompted by a deeply distressing and formative episode in our son’s life that will take several months yet to fully work through. In amongst these, there’s inevitably a smattering of posts that reflect the things that take up quite a bit of my time on a weekly basis : work (out of necessity) and sport (by choice). In that sense, NaBloPoMo 2014 has been a pretty fair reflection of the priorities in my life : family (first by a distance); work; and football

I will continue to blog regularly over the coming months (although probably not daily), and I hope that you will continue to find the blog occasionally interesting, entertaining, thought-provoking, or humourous. Thanks for your company during NaBloPoMo 2014!

One thought on “So that was the NaBloPoMo that was…

Leave a Reply

