Ouch!

Regular readers of this blog will know that I turned 50 earlier in the year. Life hasn’t changed significantly since then. But my increasing sensitivity around age and mortality was given a severe poke on Monday during an otherwise pleasant family chat. Having struggled to recall the name of a character in a popular BBC soap opera, I laughingly dismissed the temporary memory lapse as evidence of early-onset dementia. There was a momentary pause, and then my daughter (home from University for reading week), said straight-facedly : “At what point does early-onset dementia become simply dementia?!”

Ouch! Indeed.

2 thoughts on “Ouch!

  1. Catherine

    Join the club! I’ll be 61 in (OUCH) April and I cringe each time I have a brain fart!!! My biggest issue is ageism. There’s a ton of ageists out there and we must band together to fight!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

