200@50 February Update

After the cosmopolitan glamour of January’s Marrakech Half Marathon, February’s progress towards the 200 mile target has been altogether more down and dirty. Running in Cardiff during a very soggy and altogether quite gloomy month has been a struggle, particularly when coupled with a frantically busy time in work. To be honest, the training has fallen away significantly in the past four weeks, but I have managed to complete three Cardiff parkruns and the St David’s Day 10k on 28th February, taking my total, official race miles for the year up to 38.9.

The St David’s Day 10k was the highlight of the month, completed on a rare, bright and sunny morning in the Welsh Capital, in a time of 1 hour and 5 minutes (which I was delighted with given the lack of training this month). The course meanders through the city’s Bute Park starting in the shadow of Cardiff Castle before moving out around the Swalec Stadium (home of Glamorgan CCC) and along the banks of the river Taff as far as Llandaff before returning the starting point in Cooper’s Field. It’s amazing to think that the whole course takes place within beautiful parkland and that you are never more than a brisk 20 minute walk from the central commercial district around Queen Street and St Mary Street at the heart of the city. I’ve written quite a lot on this blog about my good fortune in having had the opportunity to visit some beautiful places around the world, but I never forget how lucky I am to have spent the first 50 years’ of my life in Cardiff.

Looking ahead, I need to get my training mojo back quick sharp now, because March is a busy month in the 200 mile challenge. The 13th will see me completing my second half marathon of the year at Llanelli; and the following week, I’ll be taking part in the Sport Relief 10k back in Cardiff’s wonderful Bute Park. Oh! And I’ll be completing another 3 parkruns on 5th, 19th and 26th!

You can follow my progress week by week on my justgiving page and if you’d like to sponsor me while you’re there, well – that would be really appreciated!

St Davids Day 10k

Looking fresh and enjoying the sunshine at the start of the St David’s Day 10k

 

Leave a Reply

